Founders and History

The Bahá’í Faith was founded in 1844 in Persia (Iran). It began with the mission of two Divine Messengers, the Báb and Bahá’u’lláh.

The distinct unity of the Faith that they founded stems from explicit instructions given by Bahá’u’lláh that have assured the continuity of guidance following His passing.

The line of succession, referred to as the “Covenant,” proceeded from Bahá’u’lláh to His Son ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, and from ‘Abdu’l-Bahá to His grandson Shoghi Effendi and the Universal House of Justice, an institution ordained by Bahá’u’lláh.

The Báb (1819–1850), Herald of the Bahá’í Faith and Founder of an independent religion (the Bábí Faith).

Bahá’u’lláh (1817–1892), Founder of the Bahá’í Faith.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá (1844–1921), son of Bahá’u’lláh, appointed interpreter of the Bahá’í teachings, and head of the Bahá’í Faith from 1892 until His passing in 1921;

Shoghi Effendi (1897–1957), grandson of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, appointed Guardian and head of the Bahá’í Faith from 1921 until his passing in 1957.

The Universal House of Justice, the international governing council of the Bahá’í Faith, an elected body of nine members whose permanent seat is at the Bahá’í World Centre.

Read a brief history of the Bahá’í Faith.